Email Call Now! +91 728 387 7539

How to Get the Best ITIL Certification for Your IT Career?

The IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a global standard used to define practices in delivering a systematic approach to IT service management (ITSM) and has paved a dynamic way for ITSM tools. ITIL provides an organization with a holistic view of the modern-day IT spectrum and allows co-creation of value within different business functionalities of the organization.

ITIL has grown strength-to-strength over the years. The latest version of ITIL – ITIL 4 was launched in February 2019. ITIL 4 reflects a change of power from enterprise to customers. It shifts focus from optimization models to customer-centric ones, guiding modern-age tech companies to grow in their ecosystem. The update from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4 is an immense leap placing a strong emphasis on agility and aligning with technologies such as DevOps and Lean, emphasizing the continuous relevance of ITIL in Industry 4.0.

This blog focuses on how you can get the best ITIL certification for your ITSM career path. This post explores the various certification options and how you can get certified.

So let’s get started.

ITIL 4 Certification

The ITIL 4 certification scheme consists of four levels:

ITIL 4 Foundation:

ITIL 4 Foundation replaces the ITIL v3 Foundation course in the ITIL certification program. This ITIL certificate was launched on 28 February 2019, covering concepts such as Lean management, Agile, and DevOps. It also encompasses the guiding principles and service management frameworks based on the four dimensions of ITIL. This ITIL certificate emphasizes customer focus and co-creation of value.

ITIL 4 Managing Professional (MP): ITIL 4 Managing Professional certification is a stream of four modules that are part of ITIL 4.

The four modules are:

  • ITIL 4 Specialist – Create, Deliver and Support
  • ITIL 4 Specialist – Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL 4 Specialist – High-velocity IT
  • ITIL 4 Strategist – Direct, Plan and Improve

To obtain this ITIL designation, the candidate must complete all modules in each stream.

ITIL 4 Strategic Leader: ITIL 4 Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) offered by AXELOS is set for launch in late September 2020. The ITIL Strategic Leader is a stream of two modules that are part of ITIL 4. To obtain this ITIL certificate you must complete all modules in each stream.

The two modules are:

  • ITIL 4 Strategist – Direct, Plan and Improve
  • ITIL 4 Leader – Digital and IT Strategy.

ITIL 4 Master: To achieve the ITIL Master certificate, you must display extensive knowledge and experience with ITIL and involvement in the implementation of ITIL practices.

To be eligible for the certification:

  • You must be an ITIL Expert certificate holder
  • You must have experience of working in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial or higher advisory levels

 Process of getting the ITIL certification

AXELOS has partnered with numerous training organizations across the world to impart ITIL V4 training classes (physical and online training) for candidates. We highly recommend enrolling for formal training with an AXELOS Accredited Training Organization (ATO) as they design the courses to meet the requirements anchored in the association certification.

The key benefit of training with an ATO is gaining access to the ITIL course materials and a good trainer. The ATO provides access to plenty of sample papers and offers course materials that complement the official ITIL lifecycle books. So choose wisely and focus on finding an instructor who can impart real-world experience as well as an inside scoop of the ITSM world along with an open communication passage.

ITIL Foundation exam format

  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • 40 questions
  • 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) – 65%
  • 60 minutes’ duration
  • Closed book
 Why get an ITIL certification?

No matter which ITIL certification path you chose, ITIL offers you a platform to grow and helps you in making a giant professional leap. Businesses are increasingly dependent on the right ITSM tools and practices. They demand skilled and savvy personnel to take control of the wheels. You may feel like a cog in the wheel of this giant technologically evolved system, but every cog is essential for the efficient and systematic running of the business. You can prove to be a huge asset to your organization and leverage your knowledge to make the most out of your career.